Lower your expectations and see yourself rise


When I received my Fitbit (a gift from my fitness challenge moms) I set my goal at 10,000 steps a day just like many others. But over the course of a few months, I realized I was barely getting 4,000. A few weeks ago, I lowered my goal to 5,000. I’ve hit that goal multiple times, sometimes doubling it. Last Wednesday, I joined Powerhouse Athletic Club, the sister gym to Powerhouse Downtown Tampa. After the first day, I reset my goal to 6,000. Today, I reset it to 7,000. By lowering my goal I was able to reach it. In reaching my goal, I made a new one. Then another new one. I no longer feel like a failure, never reaching that 10,000. I now feel more motivated, more inspired and more challenged. 

I have to laugh because I added a friend who is a hard core runner to my Fitbit friends list. I was embarrassed always coming in last for every challenge she invited me to. Until one day. We were talking about it and she said she adds me to help motivate me- even though there are some days she’s hoping that I’ve forgotten my Fitbit and I’m not really only at 1200 steps. That one statement from her made such a profound difference to me. It made me work harder.

I started writing this post after I began to fill up my garden tub. I’d also just synced my Fitbit and saw I was over 7400 steps. “I can top that,” I thought. So as the tub filled, I ran in place…until my husband opened the door. He’s gotten used to me walking while I’m doing dishes, jogging while watching TV and running while the tub is filling to get some last minute steps in. It’s still embarrassing to get caught sometimes, though 😉 I know I won’t hit 10,000 today but knowing I beat my goal by over 1,000 steps makes me feel pretty damn  good. Wanting to smoke my current goals and striving to beat new ones is an amazing feeling. 

If you are struggling with your goals, reassess them. Make smaller, more attainable ones. Then watch what happens when you start hitting them. Do you, be you.

Leave a Reply

