Tips for writing blog entries


I’ve been blogging for several years and writing reviews for almost as long.  I’ve read some really amazing review and blog posts and have also read some extremely atrocious ones.  Through my own experience and researching some articles, I’ve put together some tips that I hope are useful for you.

tips

  1. Be passionate.  If you are writing about something you don’t really care about, it shows in your writing.  I did this when I was writing entries for a weekly blog contest.  I lost sight of why I started blogging in the 1st place jus to win a few bucks
  2. Post often.  This is the biggest issue I struggle with.  Either I don’t have time or I can’t think of content.  Mostly I don’t make time- I have lists upon lists of content.  Set an alarm if you need to or a specific time of day.
  3. K.I.S.S- Keep it siple sweetie.  Try to keep it short.  Most readers are not looking to read a book.  Often times I write, write, write then go back and delete, delete, delete.
  4. Write how you speak.  Blogs are informal, like having a conversation with a friend.  Don’t try to be someone you’re not because you want to sound smart.
  5. Grab them right away.  Your 1st sentence should be exciting. Once you have a hold of them, use short sentences and simple words.  BE AWARE OF RUN ON SENTENCES!!!
  6. Try to make your post unique.  Someone else has probably already written something similar so put your own spin on it.
  7. When an idea pots into your head, write about it!  Or at least write it down so you don’t forget it (I have a huge list in my memos on my phone).  The sooner you can get “pen to paper” the better.
  8. Write a lot and write often.  You don’t have to post everything you write but the more you do it, the better you’ll get.
  9. Mind Map.  This bloggers explained it best.
  10. If needed, do research.  Unless you are an expert on your subject (or just writing your opinion) this isn’t always necessary.  If you’re not an expert, do research.  Don’t just Google and pick the first article that pops up.  Pay attention to to the website and remember that anyone with a credit card can create their own.  Make sure it’s credible.
  11. Edit.  For the love of God, edit.  PLEASE EDIT!  You don’t have to hire an editor but find a friend or family member who knows basic grammar, sentence structure and punctuation rules.  This is THE MOST IMPORTANT PART OF WRITING!!!!  If you want people to take you seriously, edit.  I’ve seen people lose credibility because they didn’t take the time to edit or ask someone for help. Fresh eyes may be able to spot a spelling error or help you word something differently.  I used to have my best friend edit every blog post.  I don’t anymore and sometimes I wish I did.  No one is perfect.  Hell, I have read several books with mistakes in them that a highly paid editor missed.  I read all of my posts at least twice before publishing then read them again after publishing them (most of the time).  99% of the time I have to change at least one thing.  I can’t stress the importance of this step enough.  Edit.

I hope these tips prove useful to you.  If you have anymore that you find successful, please post in the comments below!

Did you spot the errors?  Yes, I did them onpurpose.  See how important it is to edit?!

 

Leave a Reply

