You CAN do it with small changes


This morning I was chatting with one of my fitness moms through Messenger.  I was popping back and forth between her and Facebook when a before and after picture of a mom in a large group I’m in showed in my Newsfeed.  I saved the picture, took a screen shot of what she ate to lose 70 pounds and send it to her.  She was amazed but said she’d never be able to do a diet like that.  I’m assuming the mom who lost the 70 pounds is from Australia since I just discovered, after meeting an Aussie, that they eat kangaroo.

12355118_10208209765308611_1885861852_n.jpg

I’d just eaten some oatmeal and had a glass of water while we were messaging.  Her comment made me think back to when I started my journey to becoming fit six years ago.  I remember telling my trainer, Douglas, that I would never give up my whole milk, sugar cereal, soda, fast food, pizza, chips and queso and alcohol.  I hated the meal plan he made for me along with most of the foods on it.  I gagged when I tried to eat oatmeal and turned my nose up at brussel sprouts and buffalo meat.  I swore I’d never like sweet potatoes.

I realized this morning how many changes I have made that I never thought I would.  I grew up on whole milk, McDonald’s, Pizza Hut, soda and snacks.  No one in our family was or is obese (although my dad has always had a big belly).  It was simply how my generation was raised.  I look back at the long path I’ve taken.  I never had to worry about what I ate (or drank) until I had my 5th baby at 33. This is when Slacker Fattie made her appearance.  I worked out at 28 before I got pregnant with #4 because I wanted to.  I enjoyed it.  But since then, it’s been a chore.  98% of the time I have an “I don’t wanna” attitude- just like going back to school that I talked about in my last post.  Apparently I need to work on that.

12336251_10208209744748097_582482756_n.jpg

Making changes is a long path.  I made little steps along the way.  I took it one board at a time.  Eventually I did stop eating milk and cereal every morning.  I learned to put oatmeal in smoothies and take the time to make eggs in the morning.  I’ve been able to let go of pasta and bread, although I still have bread a couple of times a week to avoid the “gluten withdrawal.”  I rarely have fast food and when I do, I try to get a salad.  I’ve even started switching from ‘crispy’ to ‘grilled’ chicken.  I used to get a sausage, egg and cheese bagel, no breakfast sauce from McDonald’s.  On my way to class, if I’m hungry, I’ll drive through and get a parfait which I discovered I loved.  I used to eat 3-4 slices of pizza when Hubby orders it at 11 PM and now I can handle only eating one, maybe two slices.  I’ve learned to love brussel sprouts, asparagus, oatmeal and even plain sweet potatoes.  I’ve learned to meal prep and try to eat 5 small meals a day instead of 3 large ones.  I switched from buying soda for the house to just having it when we eat out.  Eventually, even while out I’ll order water.  Now, many times when I have soda, I don’t like it.

Several weeks ago I cut out soda, fast food, junk food, pizza and alcohol (yes, my beloved cocktails) for 2 weeks.  I didn’t exercise very much.  I lost 10 pounds in those 2 weeks.  I need to mention that I was going through a couple of personal issues and instead of having that urge to emotional eat, I wasn’t hungry.  I wasn’t eating much which also contributed to my weight loss.  However, since then, I’ve kept the weight off.  Fit Bitch has the food thing under control.  The next step is embracing the exercise!

It’s been a process, a journey.  I don’t miss the way I used to eat.  If I have a craving, I satisfy it.  I can eat a bite of a cookie and be happy instead of having a plateful.  I showed myself that I can make small, gradual changes and give up the bad habits I had for years.  It can be done if you want to do it.  Just make sure they are small and gradual changes.  Cutting out everything at once generally leads to failure.

If you want it bad enough, you’ll make it happen.

 

Leave a Reply

