The rain


There’s something relaxing about the rain. It’s mythodical. It’s calming. Comforting.

Unless you’re driving in it of course.

In Florida, thunderstorms are a part of life. As a child, I always enjoyed sitting on the porch reading a book, feeling the breeze, listening to the rain fall and the thunder boom.

image

As an adult, I still thoroughly enjoy the moments outside and often use them as a time to reflect.

This last week was full of highs and lows, gains and losses. I learned a lot about myself and embraced the advice of new and old friends. I made people laugh, then laughed myself at compliments that contradicted insults. I remembered that life is short. I remembered to live in the moment. I realized that change can be good. I took a leap of faith not knowing where I would land.

image

I have to admit I was a little surprised at the people who encouraged me this week. I’m still getting used to one who has helped inspire me. My dreams change yet there is my one constant who believes in them- though though she’s not always eloquent about her support.

I don’t always deal well with change but with encouragement, changes for the better are happening in my life. I’m learning to embrace them. The older I get, the more I’m able to let go and not look back. Life is too short to worry about what we can’t change.

As the rain dies down and the thunder quiets, I know my time outside is coming to an end. I have kids who need to be ready for school tomorrow. I have an almost graduate who begins her new college journey with me. I have a husband who supports my choices and handles my insanity with selfless love.

Believe in yourself even when it feels no one else does. Live your dreams when no one else believes them. Encourage others. Storms may be turbulent, but it’s always fun to play in the rain. 🙂

image

2 thoughts on “The rain

  1. Beautifully said. Only you can change things about yourself to help reach your goals. I believe in you and know you can do anything you want to do. I’m so proud of you going back to school to get your degree. I’m proud of your sister, Jaimie, for finally getting her GED and going to Cosmetology school. I’m proud of Alex for getting promoted to driver/engineer and taking classes to become Leutinet next yr. I’m also proud of him for taking classes to get his real estate license. All of you set goals and you are working hard to reach them. I’m one very proud mom! I love you and can’t wait to see how high you fly.

Leave a Reply

