Keep smiling even when the shit stinks


This is going to be a new series. Just the ‘Keep smiling’ part. It was inspired by something that happened during my 6 mile walk (thanks to Map My Walk I leaned my 5 miles was actually 6).
There is this bridge along the way that’s really slick.

20140714-212129-76889364.jpg

The other night I passed an older gentleman who looked like he may have been recovering from a stroke. He was just coming off of the bridge. His steps were slow and careful- more so than mine since I’ve slipped a time or two. He saw me coming and said, “Keep pumping those arms!” making me laugh. As I approached the bridge I realized I had a huge smile on my face. I picked up my pace and as I neared the end of the bridge I took a deep cleansing breath.

This is where the shit stinks part comes in.

20140714-212406-77046780.jpg

We have cows in our neighborhood and neighbors with a sense of humor. The cows are friendly, pose for pictures and will take snacks out of your hands. They also poop. Duh.

20140714-212554-77154183.jpg

So as I was smiling on my little high and smelling the cow patties I realized that not even the stench of cow poop would wipe the smile off of my face.

Shit happens in the world. We can’t control it. The one thing we CAN control is how we handle it. It’s my choice to wrinkle up my nose in disgust or admire the pretty mushrooms growing up out of the ground. I chose to admire and smile. And take a picture of cow poop.

As I continued walking I noticed, and took pictures of, other things that made me smile thus the idea for the Keep Smiling series. So look for more of these uplifting posts as well as more fitness posts from the most inconsistent blogger on WordPress. Just keep smiling!!

Leave a Reply

