Same route, different mindset


About 19 days ago (FYI this should have been posted on Jan 21) I had a breakdown. Someone finally had the guts to stop pacifying me and said, “You’re fat.” No, I’m not obese but at 148 lbs I’m fat for the 115 lbs I used to be (and will be again). I’ve flitted around with working out and losing weight for five years now but never meet my goals.

This was the slap in the face that I needed. Within five minutes of hearing those words I closed my computer, put on my sports bra, t-shirt, workout pants and tennis shoes. I left the house with tears streaming down my face, music blaring with determination to eat healthier, exercise more and finally meet my goals. I set out in the rain wanting to walk the full five miles around my neighborhood.

20140123-115819.jpg

I made it to four miles (which I just realized, I thought I’d only done three). By the time I got home I had a new outlook on my life.

Today (Tuesday) I put on those same clothes and shoes, headphones blaring the same songs but this time the sun was shining, I was smiling and there was a proud skip in my steps.

20140123-120137.jpg

That was about 2.5 miles in. By mile four I wasn’t quite so smiley. An hour and thirty minutes later I limped up my driveway with my bad hip yelling at me and my previously torn ligament knee on top of my dancer’s arthritic knees protesting and banged on the door.

I was in pain, I was starving, I was exhausted. But dammit, I did it!

20140123-120503.jpg

This was supposed to be a Bikini Body Mommy forty-five minute cardio day but I needed to complete that five miles. It was an hour and a half well spent. I’m losing inches, I’m growing stronger and I’m sticking with this challenge.

I AM doing it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

