Nuthings gonna stand in my way


In April I tore ligaments in my knee a couple of months after joining Crunch Fitness Carrollwood. I had to freeze my account. When I was finally ready to go back I had a brand new goal. I woke up one morning and decided I wanted to be an over 40 fitness model.

My former trainer Tiffany set me up with a calorie counting schedule that I was doing well with for a few weeks. I fell off track but with the kids going back to school I was determined to get back into it. I unfroze my account and was excited to start grunting and sweating.

On September 5th at 7:30 in the morning I was taking my kids to school- 0.8 miles from our house. I was sitting at a stop sign behind a bus and an SUV when I heard a loud BOOM! I looked back at my kids and asked if they were ok- both nodded yes, their eyes as wide as saucers. I got out of The Beast (2004 Dodge Durango) and saw that the car behind me had run into me. I still don’t remember feeling the impact but the sound is still in my head.

20131104-080509.jpg

20131104-080526.jpg

20131104-080550.jpg

The damage to my truck was minimal. I will never again tease Hubby for getting the tow package since it took the brunt of the impact saving the frame and me from further injury. Within five to ten minutes of the accident my neck started to hurt. I told Hubby and my friend Jeanette, who stopped and took the kids to school, it was so cliche- oh my neck! But it really did hurt. A few hours later I was at DPMG getting checked out. I thought I’d be ok in a few days. I hit my head on the headrest so the back of my head was sore. The pain spread down my neck, across my shoulders, down to my mid and lower back. Eventually it also spread to the front of my neck and into my pecs.

Tomorrow it will have been two months. I’ve been going to massage therapy three times a week for 8 weeks. I’ve had to get five different prescriptions and thankfully none were narcotics. I had an x-Ray and MRI which showed a bulging disc. Month one was the roughest. I was in bed, laying down 85-90% of the time. I couldn’t take my kids to school, couldn’t hug them, couldn’t do housework, drive for a while or perform other wifely duties. I fell into a deep depression. Fortunately a dinner date with my friend Kristi, her husband and my family helped drag me back to reality and happiness. But the physical pain remained.

Last week I had a setback and the pain is like it was in the beginning. Yesterday I decided enough was enough. I refuse to let this get me down and rule my life. I have some super yummy leftovers to eat today but starting tomorrow I’m going back to my calorie counting. I was cleared to go back to the gym and dance but have been afraid to. Tomorrow I’m unfreezing my gym account and going back to dance. I’m going to start very slowly but I have to start. I’m resting in bed as much as I can but I will not use the accident as an excuse to lay around and shovel food in my mouth.

I set a goal and I intend to work hard at it no matter how slow I have to go or how long it takes. At this point I don’t think I’ll actually ever BE a fitness model, I’d just like to look like one. I know I am capable of doing it, I just have to refuse to let anything stand in my way.

At the advice of my lawyer, and several friends, I will continue the therapy until the doctor clears me 100%.

20131104-083957.jpg

One thought on “Nuthings gonna stand in my way

  1. Pingback: Here’s to 2014! | Real Fit Mom

Leave a Reply

