Crunch Carrollwood Yup, I joined a gym!!


For the first time in five years, I actually joined a gym.  No freebies this time!  I had to actually fork out some bucks….but not very many!  Crunch Carrollwood was at my son’s Opening Day for baseball which is where I first heard of them.  I saw the signs as the opening grew near and I still didn’t look into it.  When I realized my 20th wedding anniversary and 40th birthday would be here before I knew it I figured I needed to do something drastic.

Seeing a sign for $9.95 a month is what got me.

IMG_0982

The Base Membership, $9.95, includes full use of the gym and a 1 hour kickoff with a personal trainer ($14 enrollment fee).  Of course, that price only lasted about five hours for me.  I signed up online then decided to go in and check things out in person.  They were still working on several areas of the gym but it was looking great!  I went back and forth on whether to upgrade to the Peak Membership with unlimited classes (duh), unlimited tanning (no brainer), unlimited hydro-massage (oh yeah baby!), unlimited free guests (no excuses Tampa moms!), Dot Fit nutrition program (gotta find out what this is), 4- 1 hour training sessions, quarterly, 10% off all products and use of other franchises.  All for just $19.95!!  I upgraded before I even started the tour.  If you want childcare (up to 2 hours a day) add another $10 for the Peak Plus Membership (or if you don’t want all the unlimited stuff you can add $10 to the Base membership).  There is no enrollment fee for the Peak or Peak Plus memberships and it’s only $14 for the Base.  There’s also a $29 Annual Fee due on September 1st- way less than what I’ve seen at other gyms.

Ok, enough about the boring money stuff.  Time for the good stuff!!

The group fitness classroom is multi-tiered so everyone can see the teacher!  This will make Zumba classes a lot easier.  I’m anxious to try the TRX classes after all the fun I had with them at Powerhouse Downtown.  They also have Bosu classes, retro aerobic (rock that side pony tail!), yoga body sculpt, pilates, Tread n Shed, and BBT boot camp and Boom- not sure what those entail but they sound interesting!

IMG_0955

Lots and lots of different hand weights for the classes.  And I was assured they wouldn’t run out of Bosu’s either.

IMG_0957

They have an endless row of hand weights for the main room, too.  (Totally love this shot my emerging photographer daughter took- thanks Rach!).

IMG_0959

The wait time will be minimal with all the plethora of different equipment to use.  I’m glad I get a training session because I have no idea where to start!

IMG_0963

IMG_0960

IMG_0961

This is a Hoist machine.  Unfortunately I can’t remember all of the cool features Nathan told me about it but he did have me try it out.  It’s like nothing I’ve ever felt before and I can’t wait to start using it for real!

IMG_0964

Oh, and check this out- totally genius invention- no more lost pins!

IMG_0962

You just flick the levers to the side to whatever weight you want!!  And if you’re working out with someone using less weight than you, you can leave theirs and just move yours!!

Boxing anyone?  This is a great place to take a class or just take your frustrations out on a harmless bag.

IMG_0965

IMG_0966

For those that like cardio equipment, Crunch has LOTS!!!

IMG_0977

IMG_0972

I tried this out today.  I lasted five minutes.  I’m not afraid to say the Stairmaster kicked my butt.  LOL

IMG_0979

This is where I spent yesterday and most of today.  I love that I can plug my iPhone in to charge!  I realized it’s really hard to text and walk…so I stopped trying and focused on my workout.

IMG_0981

You can check your email on these!!!!!!!  I probably shouldn’t share that, though.  Then when I tell people I’ve been at the gym so couldn’t answer their message they’ll tell me, yes, I could have!

IMG_0984

Lots of bikes to ride and elipticals to ummm, eliptic.  These things are not my friend.  I lasted a whopping two minutes while the girl next to me was going a mile a minute.  But like it says all over the gym “no judgements.”  Everyone was in their own little fitness world and didn’t even pay attention to my equipment hopping.  Oh, side note- after you use something, please wipe it down for the next person!  It’s really icky to get on a machine with someone else’s sweat all over it.

IMG_0987

After your workout you can enjoy some time in the sauna….

IMG_0967

or take a shower…

IMG_0969

in the locker room…

IMG_0970

or go tanning……which we didn’t get a picture of….

For the moms with kids not in school they have a great childcare room!

IMG_0976

Kids of all ages can hang out in here.  If they’re 13 and up (I think) they can workout with a parent.  I believe 15 and above can be on their own.  My 16 year old already told me she’d rather hang out in the Kids Zone than workout- I told her she was too old.

IMG_0973

This room is blocked off for crawlers and toddlers.

IMG_0975

They were still putting toys together when we visited.  Now it’s open and filled with lots of fun for little ones!

IMG_0974

Every time I’ve been in (twice to check it out and twice to workout) everyone has been so friendly and helpful.  I watched employees walking around and helping out people with equipment, offering advice and providing corrections when people were using bad form.  So far, I’m very impressed!  Two moms from my fitness challenge have already signed up and two more are going to check it out this week.  They don’t know it yet but Parker, who I’ve been working with, has tossed in a great prize for our challenge!

Since the gym is just ten short minutes from my house and I’m the one paying for it, I have no excuses.  I know I will meet my goals this time and will have a lot of fun reaching them.  I can’t wait to try out some of the classes and will, of course, be back here to report in about them!

Please check out their Facebook page and their website for more information.

Watch out Slacker Fattie, Fit Bitch is going to whoop your ass!!

One thought on “Crunch Carrollwood Yup, I joined a gym!!

  1. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. Id prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don?t mind. Natually Ill give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

