Exercising with ADD


I’m in ADD mode this morning for some reason.  I think I’m at that irritated point again where all the “oh look!  Squirrel!” jokes have caught up to me.  People think that because I make fun of myself and my ADD moments that it’s ok for them to make fun of me, too.  If I had anorexia would you make jokes?  What about OCD?  Or Development Disorders?  Didn’t think so.

I love this picture that I found on the ADDitude Facebook page- pretty much sums up what a lot of us go through:

I scrolled through a few more things and found this-

Ooh, good question. Flora asks: “Anyone know of any fun exercise regimens for people with ADHD/ADD? I’d rather not pay for a gym membership, but if I have to, I will.” How are you adult ADHDers making exercise work for you?

Yay!  I’m not the only person with this issue!  Whew!  I had to laugh though because in true ADD fashion the next 30 responses were Dance!  Swimming!  Walking!  Wii and XBox dance games!  Zumba!

But what about the second question?

Then one lone person actually answered that second question (she probably remembered to take her Adderall).

I might have misunderstood this, but it seems you are asking how to make it WORK. I know I personally will get into a regimen really strong for a while, then I slowly start forgetting or making excuses and eventually I stop. I WANT to work out in such a big way. I want to become “ADD-icted” to exercise, but inevitably I drop. So far, my best way of making it work for me is having a workout partner who (1) understands my weaknesses [quitting] and doesn’t let me do it and (2) understands that most of the time we are just together for companionship of presence and I need to escape into my music.
If my friend allows me to make excuses and doesn’t push me, then once again, I’ll be doomed to fail. But her commitment is strong. I think we should try to get more friends because the more people depending on me, the more likely I will be there.
Maybe finding someone to be there would be your beat help.

BINGO!!!  I suddenly understand my relationship with exercising.  How many times have I said on this blog “I WANT to work out!”?  Now I know why it’s so hard for me.  But now comes the problem solving part.  I’ve asked friends to hold me accountable but they eventually forget.  Even Josh quit because I didn’t hold up my end of the bargain.  But what I need is someone to stick with me through my quit times.  Grapes, Gripes and Gratitude has helped a LOT- so much that I’m afraid to give her my phone number because she understands me so well that I know she’ll blow up my phone every day until I send her a video of me working out holding up a newspaper with today’s date in front of CNN with the current time.

All this time I thought I was just a failure.  But here’s another thing- I hate blaming everything on ADD.  I know it’s some medical issue where brain functions, waves, cells, whatever don’t meet up with some big long medical term I’ll never understand or whatever the boring term stuff, blah blah blah.  I just want to be normal.  Ugh, stupid statement.  I need to embrace my ADD even though I don’t wanna!!!!  I will keep trying new things until I find something that works.  I will keep yo yo-ing until I find someone committed to my commitment.  I will now go back to bed and wallow in my misery. Ummm, I mean go paint my son’s room then workout while it dries.  I have so many projects started and I decided two days ago it’s time to get them finished.  With the oldest off to college the other 3 are moving around which is taking way longer than I thought but we’ll save that for another post.

At any rate, today I start over again.  Slacker Fattie might have finally met her match with Fit Bitch- especially since Fit Bitch has figured out why Slacker Fattie has been so bad with working out.  On the plus side, I’m blogging more!!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

