But I don’t have time to workouuutttt!!!!


I hear this from women all the time.  Between work, kids, husbands, activities they say they don’t have time to workout.  I know it’s been a while for me since I’ve worked out but it’s been pure laziness.

Yesterday, even though my head felt like it was going to explode from severe sinus congestion thanks to the lovely cold my children gave me for Mother’s Day, I was going to work out.  I got dressed in my workout pants, my sports bra and an old t-shirt.  I did about an hours work on the computer then got up and started to walk towards the living room to dust off my DVD’s.  On my way Hubby asked me to please hose off the air conditioner filter then reorganize the pantry because he was going to the base for their annual “box sale.”

When I was almost finished with the pantry my oldest came home and said, “Mom!  Guess what I got?”  “What?” I asked.  “My yearbook!  How about we go to lunch and we’ll look at it together- I haven’t opened it yet!”

How does a mother who has been grieving for a year because her oldest baby will soon be leaving for college turn down an offer like that?

So we chowed on lunch and flipped through her yearbook and had a really good time.  It was almost time to pick up the little kids so we went to my friend’s house (we pick the kids up together).  When we got home Hubby called and said the in-laws were coming so I had to do a quick tidy (lucky for me I’d really been keeping the house clean lately).  In the middle of their visit I had to get ready for the older two kid’s banquet and the youngest one’s dance class.

In-laws left and me and the kids were right behind them running to pick up balloons, then the cake, then back home to get the speech, then to Chili’s to set up, then to the dance studio which is fortunately in the same plaza then back to Chili’s for the banquet.  By the time we got home it was 9:30 and I was exhausted.

Did I have time to workout?  It may appear that the answer would be no.  However, I could have gotten up earlier in the morning and worked out before getting the kids up for school.  Or I could have worked out after dropping them off instead of taking time to snuggle in bed with Hubby.  I know there are some women who get up at 5:30 or 6:00 AM to start their day and don’t get home until after 8.  So for them I’ve offered little exercises to do when they can- even a little is better than nothing at all.  For me, I’ve just been flat out lazy and I’ll only have myself to blame when I’m flabby at my dance recital and 20th high school reunion.

I have the time, but for some stupid reason I can’t get my body and mind on the same page to get off my ass to do it.  Grrrrrrr!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

