The Swiss Cheese Theory of Life (and my first giveaway!)


Congratulations to Steffany813 for winning the book!

(random.org- result 8)

I had the pleasure of reviewing a new book called The Swiss Cheese Theory of Life (How to Get Through Life’s Holes Without Getting Stuck in Them) by Judy Belmont and Lora Shor.  It plopped into my lap just when I needed a boost and some reassurance.

The bigger the hole, the sweeter the cheese!  Embrace the holes in your life!  Take control of your life!  Don’t be stinky cheese!  These are some of my favorite lessons I learned from reading the book.   I enjoyed the cheese analogies and loved the lessons from the Swiss Wiz and Cheese Fairy.  The Metaphorical Took Kit was a real eye opener with such tools as an eraser to remind you that if you make a mistake “use your eraser to clear the way to new beginnings”  and a ribbon to remind you that “today is a gift.”

The Seventh Slice (chapter 7) was my favorite since I’m smack dab in the middle of making fitness and healthy food lifestyle changes right now.

     Do you think about exercising and then just let those thoughts disappear?

     Are you always planning to start eating healthier tomorrow?

     Do you promise yourself tonight you will get a good night’s rest, yet end up watching the late, late show?

     Do you feel like you don’t have enough spunk, energy or laughter in your daily life?

It was like they were peering into my head!  Their Stinky Cheese is my Slacker Fattie- always negative, the Debbie Downer type.  The Swiss Wiz and Cheese Fairy are my Skinny Bitch- motivating, confident, empowering.

Throughout the book you’re reminded of life’s challenges and that you have the power to overcome them.

Through adversity and darkness comes beauty.  And it is only through life’s challenges, or getting through the holes, that life tastes truly rich like a great piece of tasty Swiss.”

There are several ways to  win a copy of this fun and easy to read book:

1) Follow my blog (easy peasy).

2) Leave a comment below sharing how you give yourself a boost to get your life back on track.

3) Follow RealFitMom1 and SwissChzTheory on Twitter. Please leave a comment below with your Twitter ID.

4) Retweet this contest (can be done once a day) and leave a comment letting me know you retweeted.

Tweet this “Swiss Cheese Theory of Life book giveaway! http://wp.me/pSGMo-bt @realfitmom1″

5)  “Like” my Facebook Page Real Fit Mom

6) Share this post on another website or blog.  The more you share the more entries you can get!  Leave a comment with a link to where you shared it.

The winner will be announced on November 12th.

12 thoughts on “The Swiss Cheese Theory of Life (and my first giveaway!)

Leave a Reply

