What motivates you?


Five years ago I had my fifth baby.  With the other ones I didn’t exercise after, the weight just came off.  A friend took a picture of our family 8 weeks after the youngest was born and gave it to me for Christmas.  I was shocked at what I saw!  I did little things here and there to get the weight off and managed to go from the high 130’s to the low 120’s (pounds). But it came back.   Two years ago I realized none of my clothes fit.  One day I stopped and took a good look at myself in the mirror (as a mom of four I don’t get to do that often).  I was shocked at what I saw!  I entered two weight loss contests and six months later went from 140 pounds to 118.  Three months later it came back.

My biggest issue is motivation.  Those two weight loss contests were a huge motivating factor for me to get in shape.  One was a trip to NYC (which I would have won if 1.  It had been fat percentage instead of pounds lost since I was up against people who were all over 200 lbs and 2.  I’d have pushed just a little harder the last week- I was short 4 pounds) and the other was a make-over, nutrition consultation, $500 shopping spree at Dillard’s and a photo session.  I won the second one!  I never did the photo session though because I wanted to lose the last six pounds for my goal…instead I gained twenty back.

I’ve tried using little things to motivate myself but each goal I set I fail- miserably.  Currently I’m in a ‘thing-which-shall-not-be-named” and am once again motivated.  But this time things are different.  I’m not just doing this to win a day at the spa.  This time I’m making changes and sticking to them.  After the “thing” I will allow myself to eat pizza and hamburgers again but in moderation.  I will continue drinking my Body Bi Vi shakes (who would want to stop drinking a shake that tastes like cake mix??), continue eating more healthy foods and will continue exercising several times a week.  I don’t ever want to be in a fitness challenge again (I doubt I’ll ever be brave enough to do a fitness competition even though my seventeen year old daughter thinks I should).  This time Skinny Bitch is here to stay.  I honestly hope to never have to see Slacker Fattie again!  (Click here for their introduction)

What motivates me now?  Seeing my ‘before‘ pictures and never wanting to be there again.  Being able to wear the clothes I’d had stashed in the back of my closet for two years.  And also the desire to to STAY a Real Fit Mom.  I want to blog about the struggles to STAY fit and healthy.  I’m tired of blogging about trying to GET there.  Of course having your fitness idol follow you on Twitter is a HUGE motivator- Holy Motivation!  I found a fantastic post of 31 Ways to motivate yourself to exercise.  Some of my motivators are on there!

What motivates you?  Share your favorite motivators below, you might help inspire someone else to get fit and healthy!

One thought on “What motivates you?

  1. Pingback: What motivates you? « Real Fit Mom | Oscarbites Athlean-x & Visual Impact Blog

Leave a Reply

