Day 35 Hypoglycemic ATTACK!!!!


If I had to choose between diabetes and hypoglycemia I’d choose the latter….which I guess is good because that’s the one I have.  Of course I’d rather not have either but my body has decided otherwise.  I think it started in high school (old age does wonders on your memory) and it really hasn’t been a big issue for me.  Well, until yesterday.

I can go 6 months or more without an episode or attack (not sure what the proper term is, I just know it sucks) then get hit out of the blue.  Normally I’ll eat something and feel just fine.  One of the times I was pregnant (kids do wonders on your memory) it was happening more frequently so my doctor recommended a glass of orange juice with a spoonful of sugar.  I’ve had to do this a handful of times and it really does help.  Well, until yesterday.

It started in the morning when I decided to try to eat healthy (I knew Frosted Flakes were good for me!!).  I made oatmeal.  Blech.  I added Grape Nuts.  Yummy.  I tried a bite.  Blech.  I hate oatmeal.  I poured some almond milk in a bowl and added some Grape Nuts and a little sugar (hush).  I ate a couple of bites but I just wasn’t feelin’ it.

Off to baseball!  FYI, kid pitch makes the games even looonnngggeeerrrrrrrrrrrr.  Towards the end of the game my butt was sore so I stood up behind the stands.  Uh oh.  It started.  No, not my period, the hypoglycemia thing— focus! I could feel my blood sugar dropping.  I asked my 14 year old if they had OJ at the concession stand and of course they didn’t.  “Get me a Snickers!  Stat!”  In reality I asked quietly and said please but I figured the blog could use a little drama…as if plummeting blood sugar isn’t dramatic enough.  I ate half of it and drank some Dr. Pepper.  Still dropping.  The game ended and off to The Bus we went.  I know you don’t really need all this information but I’m giving it to you anyway.  🙂  Hubby asked if I was ok.  Ummmm, nope!  (Sorry, couldn’t think of anything witty to say there.)  I told him when we got home I’d have to lay down but I’d do the dishes later (at least I had my priorities straight).  After five minutes of laying down it was still dropping.  “Get me OJ and sugar!  Stat!”  I’m so remembering that for next time, LOL.  He brought me a medium bottle of OJ with two sips left in it, dumped in some sugar, shook it up (which pretty much made most of the sugar stick to the sides) and said, “Here, that’s all we have.”  Beggars can’t be choosers when you’re slowly drifting away.

Didn’t work.

He said he’d run down to CVS and get more and I suggested he pop by the pharmacist and ask if we were doing the right thing (I wonder if the cute one was there…..).  He brought me a big glass of OJ with sugar and said the pharmacist concurred (can you tell I watched Gray’s Anatomy yesterday?)-OJ and sugar was still the best thing .  I drank it semi-slowly so I didn’t put my body into sugar shock and laid down.  After about 15 minutes I could feel my blood sugar rising.  Yay!  Nap time!  When my blood sugar goes on a roller coaster ride it really wears me out.  I slept for a couple of hours then attempted to get up and move around.  Down it went again.  “Get me OJ and sugar!  Stat!”  Ok, that’s getting old, good thing it was the last time I had to ask.  By this time it was 4:00.  Hubby, “So what do I need to order for dinner?”  Me, “I got chicken out.”  I attempted to sit up but my head started spinning in circles.  Me, “Ok, maybe you do need to go get something.”  Firehouse ham and provolone on wheat please!  After more resting and a soak in the tub I was finally feeling better by 11:00- except for my stomach which wasn’t feeling too hot all day either.  On the plus side, I think I lost a few pounds!

I’m back to being two days behind schedule again but there was no way I could have worked out…which, coincidentally, was the one day my 5 year old actually reminded me to workout.  She has fabulous timing.

Whew this post got long!  I hope it was at least a little bit entertaining. 🙂

Some hypoglycemia info-

What is hypoglycemia?

Hypoglycemia, also called low blood glucose or low blood sugar, occurs when blood glucose drops below normal levels. Glucose, an important source of energy for the body, comes from food. Carbohydrates are the main dietary source of glucose. Rice, potatoes, bread, tortillas, cereal, milk, fruit, and sweets are all carbohydrate-rich foods.

After a meal, glucose is absorbed into the bloodstream and carried to the body’s cells. Insulin, a hormone made by the pancreas, helps the cells use glucose for energy. If a person takes in more glucose than the body needs at the time, the body stores the extra glucose in the liver and muscles in a form called glycogen. The body can use glycogen for energy between meals. Extra glucose can also be changed to fat and stored in fat cells. Fat can also be used for energy.

Causes, incidence, and risk factors

Hypoglycemia occurs when:

  • Your body’s sugar (glucose) is used up too quickly
  • Glucose is released into the bloodstream too slowly
  • Too much insulin is released into the bloodstream

Symptoms

Symptoms you may have when your blood sugar gets too low include:

  • Double vision or blurry vision
  • Fast or pounding heartbeat
  • Feeling cranky or acting aggressive
  • Feeling nervous
  • Headache
  • Hunger
  • Shaking or trembling
  • Sleeping trouble
  • Sweating
  • Tingling or numbness of the skin
  • Tiredness or weakness
  • Unclear thinking

Sometimes your blood sugar may be too low, even if you do not have symptoms. If your blood sugar gets too low, you may:

  • Faint
  • Have a seizure
  • Go into a coma
2 thoughts on “Day 35 Hypoglycemic ATTACK!!!!

  1. Pingback: Lisa

Leave a Reply

