Defrumpilate


I heard this “term” on our local radio show one morning. I liked it immediately and felt it fit exactly what I am trying to do with myself.

I’m one of those SAHM’s who drops their kid off in the car-loop wearing pajamas, hair in a messy ponytail, rubbing sleep out of their eyes. In the afternoon I stand at the gate in one of my many t-shirts, the one pair of jeans that currently fit and tennis shoes (or flip flops if I’m feeling lazy). Sometimes I even show up in my workout clothes <gasp>.

However, things are changing.  Several months ago I became friends with Erica. She has taken on my case to defrumpilate me. On a good day, I’m still in my one pair of jeans that currently fit but it’s paired with a button down shirt, cute sandals and make-up.

Her latest venture is to get me to accessorize. She recently began selling Lia Sophia jewelry and though my first impression of it was that it’s gaudy, it’s starting to grow on me.  Maybe one of these days I’ll learn how to dress less like a stereotypical stay-at-home-mom and figure out what necklace goes well with what outfit.  Here’s to hoping!

This is another post that’s been sitting in my drafts for a while.  I dug it out and have an update!  My mom gave me a $100 gift card to TJ Maxx for my birthday so last night I spent it- well, what was left of it.  We had three birthday parties to go to last weekend and since TJ Maxx carries kid’s stuff 1/3 of my card got used up.  Before any more birthdays could pop up I used the rest on myself buying three shirts and a pair of shorts (which is a whole nuther post unfortunately).  At least I have a few more pieces to add to my Defrumpilated clothing pile!

Leave a Reply

