Measuring your fat rolls is a must


Get out that measuring tape and shrink those fat rolls!  No, it’s not a new weight loss scam but it is important to measure parts of your body since muscle weighs more than fat.  If you’re frustrated at getting on the scale and not seeing the numbers go down but your jeans are fitting better chances are you’re gaining muscle!

Since deciding to get fit three years ago, after realizing I was so not, I bought a measuring tape.  Muscle weighs more than fat so I am trying to concentrate more on inches lost rather than pounds lost.  That doesn’t keep me off the Wii Fit Plus every morning checking my BMI and weight though!

On the left are the measurements from March 3rd 2010 and on the right is where I am today:

weight- 137.5              128
chest- 36                      36
waist- 35                      35
hips- 40.5                    36.25
right arm- 12.5           12
left arm- 12.5              12
right leg- 22.5              21.75
left leg- 22.5                 21.5

Woohoo!  In the last two months I’ve lost 9.5 lbs and 7 in.  Think about how much more I could have lost if I’d actually been working consistently!  That’s my biggest issue and something we are going to work on.

I have two weddings coming up in less than two weeks and I am trying to lose as much as I can between now and then. Two weeks after the weddings is my 37th birthday and I hope to be down to my goal of 110 by then but we’ll see. I know, according to weight loss experts you’re only supposed to lose one pound a week but I sat on my butt for the last three months and now it’s crunch time…literally.

Leave a Reply

