The best ways to lose weight quick


I’m in the home stretch of a fitness challenge and during the first forty-five days I didn’t do much.  I have difficulty with long-term goals (often known as ‘procrastination’) so didn’t do a whole lot of exercise nor did I make many changes in my eating habits.   Erica, my challenger, has worked hard from the beginning and I’m very proud of her.  When I realized the challenge was halfway over I figured I’d better get on the ball or I’d lose the challenge!  I made a lot of changes fast.  I cut out soda, sugar cereals, whole milk, fast food (except for a few cheats) and processed foods.  I started selling Visalus (nutritional shakes used for weight loss and muscle gain) and replaced one to two meals a day with two scoops of the powder mixed with almond milk.  I also upped my water consumption and my fitness routines.  The weight started coming off really quick and within three weeks I’d lost eight inches!

Here are some other helpful tips to get the weight off quickly and safely:

Using a smaller plate or bowl during meals will help you cut down on the amount of food you consume.  This was one of the best things I learned in a weight loss contest I was in two years ago.  Upping your protein as well as fruits and veggies is important as well. Allow yourself little cheats.  A candy bar, slice of pizza, fast food or soda once in a while is ok.  But beware!  You’re now healthy body may reject your cheat and leave you feeling yucky and sluggish inside.  Cutting your calories will help you slim down quick but be sure not to cut them down too low.  According to Web MD-

The truth is that cutting calories below 1,050 per day is counterproductive, because you need         strong muscles to be able to exercise effectively.

             “When you eat too few calories you lose fat but also precious muscle, which is the worst thing           you could do because it slows your metabolism and makes it more difficult to increase exercise intensity or duration,” says Dansinger.

You don’t need to workout six hours a day to slim down.  Committing to a 30 minute walk with or without weights 3-5 times a week can really help you get on your way.  Of course the more days you walk the quicker you’ll lose- increasing the weights, walking longer and/or upping it to a jog or run will help even more.  Because I’m in the home stretch I’m doing two to three workout sessions a day.  I’ve said this before- find something you love and own it.  I love dancing so most of my DVD’s are dance related plus I do Wii Zumba and attend dance classes twice a week.  Wake up and workout!  Exercising before breakfast is a great way to burn fat quick.  Be sure to add strength training to your new cardio shedule- or better yet, find a fitness program that combines both to cut down on your fitness time. If you can stand it, try interval training.  It’s awesome but hard!  Keep on it and you’ll do better each time.   I’m also loving JNL Fusion and P90x.  Write down what you eat, what exercises you do and find a fitness buddy.

(I have these and LOVE them!)

The easiest change to make doesn’t require letting go of your favorite foods or working out like Rocky.  Sleep.  Get more.  Sleeping at least eight hours a night can really benefit your weight loss (as long as you’re not eating in your sleep!).  If you can, take a 20 minute nap midway through the day as well.  It will really help revive your energy to get through any evening workouts or other evening activities you have.  Make sure you don’t go over 25 minutes though or you’ll be more tired than if you hadn’t taken the nap.

Raw Andrew sums all of this up best:

The secret to rapid and easy weight loss is that you have to change your lifestyle. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing and expecting different results. If you want to shed weight permanently you have to live a healthier life. Change your eating habits and exercise more. Change your way of being and you will see results fast and effortlessly. I don’t say it’s extremely easy because I know it isn’t. But it’s worth the struggle. My life was forever changed and yours can be too. From the bottom of my heart I hope you will get a healthier lifestyle. Find the weight loss solution and workout routines that best fit you.

Also check out Dr. Flavorful’s diet and The Taster’s Choice for some great recipes and

Doctor Approved Crash Diets  Shedyourweight.com

One thought on “The best ways to lose weight quick

Leave a Reply

